Follow by Email

Showing posts with label Def/Light. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Def/Light. Show all posts

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Def/Light Interview

1. Can you give us an update on what is going on with the band these days?

2.How would you describe the musical sound of the new album and also how does it differ from previous releases?
2)      We have made big step to musical and sound senses. The Album has become heavier and more aggressive, but haven`t lost melody. We have work hard, and we hope everybody will enjoy “Transendevil”.

3.What are some of the lyrical topics and subjects the new release explores?
3)      The bases of our lyrics anticlericalism, mystic, freedom and human development. For example: Antikrist Tabor is about Taborites(Checzk rebel`s) who rebelled against catholic church in 15-th century.   We have a lot of philosophy in lyrics.

4.What is the meaning and inspiration behind the name Def/Light?
4)      When we have young, we had snobbish and silly name “Defilers of light”. It was childish. We had to change it. We wanted to remain part of old name, but to make it more philosophical and intelligent.  The word “def” is homophone to the “deaf” witch give our name two senses – “Deaf ligt” and “def light”.

5.What are some of the best shows that the band has played over the years and also how would you describe your stage performance?
5)      We have fantastic show in Berdeev, Slovakia and in Zagan, Poland/ there were many fans, whose support of made the show much more extreme and powerful. 
We trying to be active. We have a tradition to make a show with costumes and “corpse paint” Although we are sometimes blamed it is not trendy. Always, we sing our hearts out in 150%.

6.Do you have any touring or show plans for the new release?
6)      Yes, we are planning Ukrainian tour in February or March and European tour in October. We`d like to have shows around the World. We are waiting offers from managers.

7.On a worldwide level how has the feedback been to the new album by fans of black and death metal?
7)      The album has just become released and we don`t have many comments. But we are happy that they are all positive.

8.What direction do you see your music heading into on future releases?
8)      I don`t think it`s right to be satisfied 100% the work. We are going to work more with symphonic music but we are not going to lose black/death metal music. Should always try to be even better.

9.What are some bands or musical styles that have influenced your music and also what are you listening to nowadays?
9)      We listen to many kinds of different music starting from symphonic music and finishing with experimental grind core. Some musicians of the band enjoy jazz or ethnic. Dimmu Borgir, Hate, Behemoth, Flashgod Apocalypse, Anorexia Nevrosa and match other music have inspired with books, performances and human history.  And life itself prompts some idea to us.

10.Does Occultism play any role in your music?
10)   Sure occultism and mysticism is a part of our creative work. Telematics/θέλημα/outlooks are close to us. It has philosophical and ideological meanings for us. We see the direct connection with rational and scientific ideas.

11.Outside of music what are some of your interests?
11)   Each musician has his own interests and hobbies. As for me, I am interested in clinical psychology, philosophy and history.  I am really keen of reading and writing. I am a journalist and a psychologist my profession. Generally, I above a Renaissance person who knows everything and could do everything.

12.Any final words or thoughts before we wrap up this interview?
12)   I face a choice^ to write a book about it or to say just a few words. We would like to express our gratitude to all our fans and everybody who takes interests in our band and music. We want all people to be free and to develop themselves.
93 93 93


Monday, December 2, 2013

Def/Light/Transcendevil/Metal Scrap Records/2013 CD Review

  Def/Light  are  a  band  from  Ukraine  that  plays  a  very  symphonic and  melodic  form  of  black/death  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2013  album  "Transcendevil"  which  was  released  by  Metal  Scrap  Records.

  "Intro"  starts  up  the  album  with  epic  sounding  synths  that  bring  a  classical  music  feeling  to  the  album.

    "Neo-dont-s"  which  is  also  the  first  real  song  on  the  album  begins  with  blast  beats  form t he  drums,  synths  along  with  heavy  guitar  and  bass  riffs  which  leads  up  to  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  and  a  few  seconds  later  melody  is  added  into  the  guitar  riffing  as  well  as  some  deep  death  metal  growls  and  the  song  starts  to  alternate  between  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  after  awhile  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  added  into  the  song.

  "Homos  Novus"  opens  with  heavy  guitar  riffs and  drums  as  well  as  some  synths  before  adding  in  blast  beats  and  black  metal  screams  which  also  leads  up  to  the  guitar  riffing  getting  more  melodic  and  a  couple  of  minutes  alter  guitar  solos  and  leads  make  their  way  into  the  song  and  towards  the  end  death  metal  growls  are  added  into the  song.

  "Dark  Liturgy"  begins  with  heavy  guitar  riffs,  drums  and  synths  and  you  can  also  hear  bass  in  the  background  which  also  leads  up  to  a  small  amount  of  blast  beats  and  a  mixture  of  black  metal screams  and  death  metal  growls   and  after  awhile  the  guitar  riffing  starts  utilizing  some  melody   and  the  song  sticks to  a  symphonic  black/death  direction.

  "Philosopher's  Garden"  kicks  in  with  heavy  guitar  and  bass riffs  along  with  some  drums  and  synths  and  a  few  seconds  alter  black  metal  screams  make  their  way  into  the  song  along  with  some  blast  beats  and  a  couple  of  minutes  alter  death  metal  growls  are  added  into  the  song  and  towards  the  end  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  added  into  the  song.

  "In  Front  Of  Soldier's  Eyes"  comes  in  with  violins  and  symphonic  synths  and  a  few  seconds  later  bass  guitars  and  drums  come  into  the  song  along  with  some  heavy  and  melodic  guitar  riffs  and  black  metal  screams  which  also  lead  up  to  guitar  solos  and  leads  coming  in  and  out  of  the  song  as  well  as  some  death  metal growls  along  with  some  blast  beats  that  come  in  and  out  of  the  song.

  "Jupiter"  is  introduced with  heavy  guitar  and  bass  riffs  along  with  some d rums  and  synths  as  well  as  some  melodic  guitar riffing  which  also  leads  up  to  death  metal  growls  and  black  metal  screams  and  a  few  seconds  alter  blast  beats  kick  in  before  going  into  a  mid  paced  direction  and  towards  the  end  there  is  a  brief  use  of  melodic  guitar  leads.

  "Antikrist  Tabor"  is  brought  in  with  bass  guitars,  drums  and  guitar  leads  as well  as  some  synths  before  getting  heavier  and  adding  in  black  metal  screams  and  after  awhile  death  metal  growls  are  added  into  the  song  which  also  leads  to  the  music  alternating  between  fast  and  slow  parts.

  "Septem  Millio"  which  is  also  the  last  song  on  the  album  begins  with  synths  and  violins  along  with  some  drums

  Song  lyrics  cover  anti  religion  and  self  development  themes,  while  the  production  has  a  very  strong,  powerful,  heavy  and  professional  sound  where  you  can  hear  all  of  the  musical  instruments  that  are  present  on  this  recording.

  In  my  opinion  Def/Light  are  a  very  great  sounding symphonic  and  melodic  black/death  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Neo-dont-s"  "Philosopher's  Garden"  and  "Jupiter".  RECOMMENDED  BUY.